NMC member countries

The northern half of the Mozambique Channel (NMC) is that part of the channel northwards of the narrowest stretch between Madagascar and Mozambique, at about 17 degrees south. It is bounded by northwest Madagascar, northern Mozambique and southern Tanzania, with the Comoro archipelago at its heart.

The Aldabra group of islands lies just to the north, at about 9 degrees south. The northern limit of the region is not yet clear, but is operationally set to include Mafia Island in central Tanzania at about 7 degrees south.

The Northern Mozambique Channel (NMC) is entirely covered by the Exclusive Economic Zones of the countries in the region – Mozambique, Madagascar, Tanzania, Comoros, Seychelles and France, though a small triangle of High Seas juts into its northern extreme.

See the tabs at left for some facts and figures about the NMC countries, drawn from a variety of sectors and focused around the value of ocean resources to each of the countries.